THE RODS – The Rods (Re-Release) – High Roller Records

Heralded by a five-star review in UK music paper “Sounds” in September 1981 (“I honestly can’t remember the last time I felt so enthusiastic about a band’s first studio effort…” wrote reviewer Geoff Barton) THE RODS’ self-titled debut album for Arista Records was greeted enthusiastically, in particular in Britain where the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal was in full swing; and as a result the New York-based three-piece of vocalist/guitarist David ‘Rock’ Feinstein, drummer Carl Canedy and new bassist Garry Bordonaro landed the prestigious support slot on the UK leg of Iron Maiden’s spring 1982 ‘Beast On The Road’ tour.
Possibly one of the most illustrious and exciting albums of the early Eighties, ‘The Rods’ was in essence and stripped down and revitalised version of the band’s self-pressed limited edition ‘Rock Hard’ LP. Dropped from the tracklisting were the Elf cover ‘Sit Down Honey’ and The Young Rascals’ ‘You Better Run’, ‘In Your Panties’ and ‘Getting’ Higher’, and in came two new cover songs: ‘Ace In The Hole’, and ‘Nothing Going On In The City’. Originally recorded by Dutch band White Honey, ‘Nothing Going On In The City’ was a song THE RODS swiftly made their own with their full-on kick-ass interpretation. Held over from the album, ‘Getting Higher’ appeared as the previously unreleased track on the band’s four-track 12” ‘Full Throttle’ EP (alongside album cuts ‘Power Lover’, ‘Nothing Going On In The City’ and ‘Crank It Up’) and has been added as a bonus track to this release.

Original transfer by Marcus Mossmann at PHONOGRAPHIC ARTIFACTS. Audio restoration and mastering by Patrick W. Engel at TEMPLE OF DISHARMONY in November 2020. Cutting by SST Germany on Neumann machines for optimal quality on all levels.

HRR 810LP, ltd 750, 250 x black, 250 x transparent electric blue, 150 x silver + 100 x clear/ grey marble vinyl (HRR Mailorder exclusive), 425gsm heavy cardboard cover, 8 page booklet printed on uncoated paper, set of 3 x A5 photo cards in special envelope, poster

HRR 810CD, slipcase, double sided poster

1. Power Lover
2. Crank It Up
3. Hungry for Some Love
4. Music Man
5. Woman
6. Nothing Going on in the City (White Honey cover)
7. Get Ready to Rock & Roll
8. Ace in the Hole (Robert Fleischman cover)
9. Rock Hard
10. Roll With the Night
11. Getting Higher (1981 EP Version)

12. Nothing Going on in the City (alternate mix)
13. Power Lover (alternate mix)
14. Nothing Going on in the City (live)

David “Rock” Feinstein – Guitar & Lead Vocals
Garry Bordonaro – Bass & Lead Vocals on “Ace in the Hole”
Carl Canedy – Drums & Vocals



Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.