ESSES – Bloodletting for the Lonely – Bat-Cave Productions, Atakra Records

Deathrock/post-punk quintet Esses returns with sophomore album, Bloodletting for the Lonely, due out August 06 on digital, vinyl, and CD formats. Atakra Records (US) will issue vinyl, and Bat-Cave Productions (Poland) will release the record on both CD and vinyl.

Formed in 2014, Esses has gradually become one of the pillars in the thriving Oakland and San Francisco underground. Encompassing elements of deathrock and dark post-punk shrouded under a veil of forbidding doom, Esses captures an atmosphere that is intimate and intense at the same time. The Oakland five-piece — featuring current and former members of Altar de Fey, Black Ice, The Phantom Limbs, Red Voice Choir, and The Holy Kiss — carry through transcendently dark live performances with surreal and sublime vitalities. Esses has played Poland’s notorious Return to the Batcave Festival in 2019, Oakland’s own Near Dark Festival in 2016 and 2019, and a slew of shows across the US.

A follow-up to the 2018’s EP, Offering, the upcoming album, Bloodletting for the Lonely, centers around the topics of mental health, memory, and trauma, roaming over the events that are internalized into an unconscious space like a lucid dream and the world around which we cannot escape. The record interprets the psychology of moving through this comatose space as two separate beings inhabiting the same body and archetypal imagery. Emerging with “The Source” and culminating in “Schism,” the record progresses with a continuous storytelling approach throughout the nine meticulously ordered numbers.

On Bloodletting for the Lonely, Esses instigates a rivetingly high-powered yet spectacularly emotional outing. Gloomier and heavier than ever, the group extracts out their otherworldly reverb-drenched energies with bone-rattling drums, haunting melodies, and stoic basslines. Together with the bewitching songwriting, the piercing yet evocative vocals of Miss Kel help the tracks conceiving their destined mental image.

A Twitch TV Visual Album Release Livestream Party hosted by Davey Bones of New Music Mondays takes place on August 04th at 08:00 PM Pacific time. On the show, Esses will be premiering their new album along with exclusive music videos, visualized contents, interviews, live sets by DJ Miz Margo and Adrienne Scissorhands, and special guest artist, Bestial Mouths.

Join Esses on Bloodletting for the Lonely trip and embrace the darkness together.

1. The Source
2. Pierce the Feeling
3. Four Corners
4. Infinite Void
5. Before the Blight
6. Little Mouse
7. Faceless Past
8. Caged Beasts
9. Schism

– Esses –
Miss Kel – Vocals, Lyrics
Dawn Hills – Guitars
Skot B – Guitars
Scout Leight – Bass
Kevin Brown – Drums

– Others –
Recorded and mixed by Skot B at Kempton House Studios, Oakland, CA.
Mastered by George Horn at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA.
Artwork and design by Kelly Correll.
Photography by Kevin Brown.

PRE-ORDER: (Vinyl + Digital) (Vinyl) (CD)

LIVESTREAM EVENT: (August 04th at 08:00 PM Pacific time)

– Esses –

– Bat-Cave Productions –


Zoheb M.
Qabar PR

Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.