MANILLA ROAD – The Courts of Chaos (Re-Release) – High Roller Records

Manilla Road‘s »The Courts Of Chaos« album was originally released in 1990. It was the band’s last release for Black Dragon and also the last release before the band temporarily split up (if we do not take 1992’s »Circus Maximus« into account, which was actually supposed to be a solo album).
All in all it was a very tough time for Manilla Road. When he was still alive, Mark Shelton commented in an exclusive interview: “Yes, you are correct with all of that. Our releases were not selling as well as they had years before and it seemed like metal in general was having a hard time surviving the times that followed the conversion to CD technology. Right after Manilla Road broke up, I started putting together a solo project that accidentally turned into a band. So we named it Circus Maximus and signed a deal with Black Dragon but they decided to release it as a Manilla Road album because they thought it would sell better. »The Courts Of Chaos« was the last album that was a real Manilla Road project on Black Dragon.”
“»The Courts Of Chaos« was a tough album to get done because the atmosphere within the band was tense, to say the least”, continued The Shark. ”We all knew it was going to be the end of an era and that this line-up would most likely never do another album.” Although »The Courts Of Chaos« might not be the strongest Manilla Road effort, Mark did not consider it a “throwaway album” whatsoever: “It does not seem to get mentioned as much as many other albums of The Road. But when it does come up, it seems like that person is really sold on the project being one of our better ones. It does, in my opinion, have some really killer songs on it. ‘Dig Me No Grave’ is still in our show. It’s always a challenge to play but I love doing that one live and it still seems to appeal to our audience.“
Another highlight on »The Courts Of Chaos« is “DOA”, a cover of a Bloodrock number. Manilla Road were not known for playing too many covers. Mark Shelton explained: “I grew up in that era and yes, I love that old stuff and could be called a collector of sorts, I guess. This was the only cover song that Manilla Road has ever put on an album. We chose this song because it was the only one that all three of us could agree upon. I wanted to do some obscure hit from the old days and turn it into a Manilla Road style song. I’m still fairly fond of the version and still like to listen to it every once in a while.”
Mastered for vinyl by Patrick W. Engel at TEMPLE OF DISHARMONY
HRR 797LP, ltd 500, 150 x black, 150 x transparent ultra clear + 200 x transparent royal blue vinyl, insert

1. Road to Chaos
2. Dig Me No Grave
3. D.O.A.
4. Into the Courts of Chaos
5. From Beyond
6. A Touch of Madness
7. (Vlad) The Impaler
8. The Prophecy

Mark Shelton – Guitars, Vocals
Scott Park – Bass
Randy Foxe – Drums, Keyboards



Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.