KNIGHTRESSM1 presents ‘Butterfly’ single, plus mini-documentary

San Francisco Bay Area outfit KnightressM1 presents their new single ‘Butterfly’, the first track on their debut album ‘Dreams and Devastation’. The accompanying video sees frontwoman Emily Palen as executive producer/ artistic director, and Van Spronsen Productions / Shena van Spronsen as executive editor with videography by Nick Bellarosa and Evan Lanam.


“Butterfly is about coming to grips with our own personal power, owning that and not letting anyone take it away from us.  With grace and compassion we can walk through the world harnessing our ultimate potential which as creative beings is our greatest service to the world.  Our society, in its dysfunctionality, survives in its exploitation by manipulating and leaching off of people who are in servitude to its demands.  Once we own the birthrights of our power, creative potential and joy they no longer control us.  This is how we break the system,” says Emily Palen.

KnightressM1 also presents a new mini-documentary on the band, produced by Evan Lanam, where Palen is accompanied by Larry Boothroyd on bass and Chad Tasky on drums.

Their debut 12-song ambitious concept album explores both the emotional depths of personal transformation and the journey of cosmic awakening. Co-produced by Palen and esteemed producer John “Lou” Lousteau (Foo Fighters, Iggy Pop, Joan Jett), it was recorded at Foo Fighters’ acclaimed Studio 606 near LA.

Formed in 2011 by violinist, vocalist, pianist and composer Emily Palen with support from drummer Rob Ahlers (50FOOTWAVE, Kristin Hersh), KnightressM1 was joined by bassist Uriah Duffy (Whitesnake) for this studio album.  Fueled by a deep-seated necessity to defy limitation, their heavy driving bass and rhythm are rounded out with lots of harmonic layering and beauty.

Earlier, the band presented singles ‘Lock & Key’ and Polarity Integrate’. KnightressM1 is the sonic manifestation of Palen’s heart. Their music is fascinating in the integration of specific musical frequencies – the further Palen ventures in this sonic journey, the heavier and heavier the sound gets. The crushing intricate rhythm section blends harmoniously with her driving, searing electricified violin tone as the lead.

“This is also a tale of my own healing, songs that helped me to get through impossible places.  Music that saved my life. Everything that I have ever been through, every person I loved, lost, gained; every abandoned heartbreak, every dagger’s edge now makes sense in the context of this album.  It was all so I could write these songs and experience the power of being within my own authenticity,” says Emily Palen.

“Music has always lifted me into an untouchable space, even when everything around me is breaking, when I am in unbearable soul pain, beyond what I myself can repair, the music takes that pain and morphs it into beauty and power. When I’m completely honest with the music, it alchemizes the deepest sadness and betrayal into an unbreakable strength and love. We become greater because of the life we have lived, not in spite of it.”

The embodiment of musical manifestations, KnightressM1 is based on the thematic concept of a female galactic warrior, who comes to Earth to bring justice, hunt corruption and restore truth. Within universal language, M1 is code for unity. This is her identifier. Her frequency. KnightressM1 (KM1) is the vessel through which Palen creates and shares her unique contributions to what is more commonly known here on earth as the music industry.

Palen is a a classically-trained virtuoso has spent her life mastering violin, piano, singing and composition. As a young adult, she began exploring the concept of transmitting consciousness through improvisation. Emily explored this power through sacred solfeggio in the steadfast belief that these specific audio tones have transformative power.

Since releasing her first solo violin improv album ‘Glass ~ Live at Grace Cathedral’ in 2012 and ‘Creation’ a year later, she’s become a sponsored artist with Engl Amps, a crucial part of KM1’s tone, and has played or recorded with Foo Fighters, Eric McFadden and Gretchen Menn, among others, both as a live performer and a compositional recording artist, Earlier, she became a finalist in the ‘My Grammy Moment’ competition and played live with orchestra at the Grammys, conducted by John Paul Jones (Led Zeppelin).

The ‘Dreams and Devastation’ LP is available now across digital outlets such as Apple Music and streaming platforms such as Spotify.

01. Butterfly
02. Polarity Integrate
03. Lock & Key
04. Supernova
05. Force of Nature
06. Raising Light
07. Minutes
08. Fire
09. Desolation Heartbreak
10. Gates of Dawn
11. Stars From My Sky
12. Zero Point

Emily Palen – Co-producer, music, lyrics, art direction
John Lousteau – Co-producer, recording engineer, tape engineer, mixing engineer
Mastered by Yossi Shakked
Recorded and mixed at Studio 606
Emily Palen – Violin, vocals, Hammond B3 organ, keyboards, synthesizers, back vocals
Rob Ahlers ~ Drums
Uriah Duffy ~ Bass
Mick Murphy ~ Guitar on certain tracks
John Lousteau ~ Percussion, back vocals
Cover artwork photo by Nick Bellarosa
Graphic Design by Aaron Nagel / Heart Sculpture by Shane Izykowski
Album notes ~ tuned to 528 hz, drums and bass recorded to tape
ENGL Special Edition and Invader used for Violin Amp tracking

Keep up with KnightressM1
Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | Soundcloud | Spotify| Apple Music | Booking | Press contact

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram | LinkedIn | Email


Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.