AMORIELLO: Veers Away From The Light With ‘Dear Dark’ – Traditional Heavy Metal on Sliptrick Records

This is the second release from New Jersey metal project Amoriello and follows the 2018 self-titled debut. The new release is an EP entitled Dear Dark and is full of traditional heavy metal for fans of classic Judas Priest, early Queensryche, King Diamond, Savatage, Helloween, Sanctuary and Crimson Glory, and features vocals by Brazilian metal legend Carlos Zema (Immortal Guardian, ex-Outworld). Other guest appearances of note include current and former members of Megadeth, King Diamond, Yngwie Malmsteen, Impellitteri, Cacophony and more.

“The opening and homonymous Dear Dark is a heavy / prog composition, reminiscent of the Deep Purple era Perfect Strangers, with a basic riff that “nails” in your mind and with the epic vocals of Carlos Zema to match the composition, although somewhere he overdoes it with screams. Excellent work has also been done on the keys. The second composition, This Burning Evil, is more “heavy”, with fewer keys and less prog elements, while the vocals remind me of Dio. Next is the instrumental, Thirty Four Strings of Fury. A “dark” introduction with the change of pace the drums start and the “solos” from the guests and the composition takes off. Fourth part of the experimental is Magic Wand. The dreamy/nightmarish introduction (as you get it) could be found in Argento’s soundtrack. It puts you perfectly in the atmosphere of the song, which from the middle and then brings to King Diamond. Milan’s Dream is essentially the epilogue of EP and is a one-and-a-half-minute acoustic ballad.”  John Victoria Frangos of


Dear DarkThis Burning EvilThirty Four Strings Of Fury and Milan’s Dream were produced, mixed, and guitars tracked by Luke DeMuro (Underground Sound NJ, Brooklyn, NY). Magic Wand (Abracadabra) was produced, mixed, and guitars tracked by Nick Perez (Clinton, NJ).

The EP was mastered by Mark Trewella (Full Circle Mastering, Black Mountain, NC) with artwork by Juan M. Bello.

Dear Dark | Released February 9th, 2021 via Sliptrick Records

Track Listing:
01. Dear Dark | 02. This Burning Evil | 03. Thirty Four Strings of Fury | 04. Magic Wand (Abracadabra) | 05. Milan’s Dream

Special guest musicians:
Carlos Zema – Vocals | Emilio Martinez – Bass | Ken Stravopoulos – Drums | Anthony Stahl – Keyboards

James Amelio Pulli – Bass on Thirty Four Strings Of Fury
BJ Zampa – Drums on Magic Wand
Bellatrix Serra – Additional Vocals on Magic Wand and Milan’s Dream

On Thirty Four Strings of Fury: Ronni LeTekro – Guitar Solo | Glen Drover – Guitar Solo | Alex Masi – Guitar Solo | Toby Knapp – Guitar Solo

Amoriello is:
Thomas Amoriello – Rhythm/Lead Guitars

Band links: Official Website | Facebook | Youtube | On Sliptrick


Copyright © 2021, Grand Sounds


Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.