Arcana’s Progressive Space Rock Opera Begins With “Letters From A Lost Soul | Act I: The World One Forms

Canada’s Arcana begin their cinematic and poetic saga with “Letters From A Lost Soul | Act I: The World One Forms”, which will prove to be a real treat for progressive metal fans across the globe.

The space rock-opera concept is full of layered voices and lyrics, which paint a grandiose portrait of thoughtful concepts and grand tales. The debut EP is just the tip of the iceberg with several more releases planned to tell various stories across a widespread universe. This EP is a sort of love story from the protagonist Damian to his wife Hope and their child Cassidy before tragedy strikes.

The complexity runs deep with the addition of orchestral elements perhaps invoking the listeners’ own struggles when analyzing the characters and lyrics and finding a way to work past them. Throughout the “Letters From A Lost Soul | Act I: The World One Forms” arc, Damian will be expressing all of these emotions through letters to his wife and child, the letters being the songs on each release and the characters writing back and forth. The band cites the theme behind the technicality focused for their first single “Wings”:

“’Wings’ is the instrumental track on the EP and acts as a kind of overture to the whole project, displaying a variety of sounds that will be used and called back upon throughout the EP and future releases. It ranges from hope to despair, longing to contentment, and shows where the project is capable of going.”

Fans of polyrhythms and progressive metal, especially those who enjoy Rush, Caligula’s Horse, and Leprous should take interest in the first foray into this wondrous adventure that starts with “Wings”, which can be heard via its premiere on TheProgspace HERE.

The entire EP releases on November 6, 2020. EP pre-order will be available at

Track Listing:
1. Letters From A Lost Soul (0:53)
2. Wings (7:11)
3. Tailwind (3:55)
4. Octosun/Wings (Reprised) (9:54)
EP Length: 21:55

Rogan McAndrews (Composer, Co-producer, Guitar, Bass, Vocals) | Photo Credit: Rogan McAndrews

EP Credits:
• All songs performed by: Rogan McAndrews (guitar, bass, vocals), Deyson Thiara (drums),  & Anna Draper (vocals)
• All songs written by: Rogan McAndrews
• Produced by: Rogan McAndrews & Deyson Thiara
• Mixed by: Deyson Thiara
• Mastered by: Deyson Thiara
• Album Artwork by: Kate Depatie, Rogan McAndrews
• Member of SOCAN
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

EP Band Line Up:
Rogan McAndrews – Guitar, Bass, Vocals (Damian), Synths.
Anna Draper – Vocals (Hope)
Deyson Thiara – Drums


Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.