SCORN Unleash ‘Dense Mind’ Guitar Playthrough Off New Album “A Comedic Tragedy”

Unleashing the full length “A Comedic Tragedy” earlier this year on January 20th, Canadian technical death metal SCORN has posted a new guitar playthrough for the track ‘Dense Mind’, which can be viewed via its premiere on TechnicalMusicReview HERE.

Formed with the intention of playing high-intensity death metal, SCORN has risen from the depths of Guelph, Ontario bringing a formidable onslaught of harsh riffs and crushing vocals.

Having experience in other projects, the duo of Julian Dutton and Steven Rowlands came together in 2015 to flesh out their technical death metal dreams in a flurry of abrasive melodies with brutal undertones. Although SCORN started as a group project, it is now a solo project of Rowlands who has taken over writing, programming, and performance of all aspects of the tracks. While the band is currently solo, there is the possibility of a full band forming or live shows and future albums.

Highlighting their aggression, and with the music influencing the lyrical content, SCORN writes about personal conflicts, with things being emphasized for dramatism, and other personal topics.

Their debut EP “To Bleed or Not To Bleed” was released in 2015 and followed by the full length “A Comedic Tragedy” released during January 2020. Recording and writing duties were mainly done by Steven Rowlands except for tracks Dense Mind’Psychotic Acts’Demented’Phagocytosis’ with Julian Dutton plus Chemical Lobotomy’ with Alex Snape and the album’s last track ‘Falling Fortress’, Rowland’s own father contributed lyrics. The album was produced by Steven Rowlands and Alex Snape of Nomadic Media.

Rowlands adds: “I’ve created an album which, I feel, has captured an older feel of death metal while still remaining aware of what year it is and how tastes have changed in the metal scene. I show who my influences are and I have no shame in that. The music may not be as fast as some of the more extreme bands out there, but the aggression and intensity still shine through, in my eyes. There has been a lot of work put into this so I hope those who listen to it can hear that. This is the first album that I’ve made almost entirely by myself and I am very happy with the end results and there will be lots more music to come.”

SCORN‘s “A Comedic Tragedy” is available on BandcampSpotifyApple Music.

Track Listing:
1. Intro (3:12)
2. Frenzy (6:18)
3. Dense Mind (3:04)
4. Psychotic Acts (3:36) (Guest solo: Layne Richardson)
5. Demented (4:51)
6. Isolation (2:24)
7. Phagocytosis (3:45)
8. Chemical Lobotomy (3:42) (Intro: Alex Snape)
9. A Lack of Communication (3:52)
10. Falling Fortress (5:05) (Guest Solo: Jonah Kay)
Album Length: 39:52

For more info:

Asher Media Relations

Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.